The election will be held on Saturday, 28 March 2020 and polling booths will be open from 8am to 6pm.


The Electoral Commission Queensland will provide details on early voting and the locations of all the polling booths in February 2020.  These details will be published here when they are announced.


In 2019 the Queensland Government’s Change Commission created completely new boundaries for the Ipswich City Council divisions.  We will go from 10 divisions with one councillor per division to four divisions with two councillors each plus a mayor. To review the proposed boundaries visit the Ipswich City Local Government Area Divisional Boundary Review.


Another change that has been proposed by the Queensland Government is to change from OPTIONAL PREFRENTIAL VOTING to COMPULSORY PREFERENTIAL VOTING.  This means every box on the ballot paper must be filled in or the vote will be informal and not counted.  You will no longer be able to only vote 1 and leave all other boxes blank.